Read The Silver Voices by John Howard Free Online

Ebook The Silver Voices by John  Howard read! Book Title: The Silver Voices
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 29.56 MB
v The author of the book: John Howard
Edition: Ex Occidente Press
Date of issue: May 2010
ISBN: No data
ISBN 13: No data
City - Country: No data

Read full description of the books The Silver Voices:

The Silver Voices is a sewn hardcover book of 159 pages with dust-jacket, silk ribbon, endpapers and a full-colour frontispiece. Edition limited to strictly 170 copies.

Transylvania: the country beyond the forest and land of the seven fortress towns. In The Silver Voices we encounter the previously unknown eighth town: Sternbergstadt. Now known as Steaua de Munte, it’s one of those places where past and present continually meet, with no-one being entirely sure which has the upper hand. In Steaua de Munte history can never be said to be dead and buried; it plays too many tricks on the present and future for that.

Steaua de Munte’s Old Town, enclosed by its walls but not limited by them, still dreams the centuries away beneath its two hills, one surmounted by a castle, the other covered by a cemetery. The baroque New Town, the fin de siècle Parisville district, and the Modernist quarter with its boulevards and apartment blocks, are being restored and are as yet little known outside Romania - and even then hardly at all.

Steaua de Munte plays its part in the dark and tangled history of one of Europe’s most exciting countries. Borders and boundaries change; governments and leaders come and go, names change and change again. The city and its inhabitants do what they’ve always done best: live for the day. In any case reality will continually intrude; but nobody really knows exactly how much. Or cares, for that matter. Unlike Sibiu and Sighisoara – to which any possible resemblances are purely coincidental – Steaua de Munte currently receives few visitors. But those who do find their way there are never quite the same again -- even if they eventually leave again.

John Howard's stellar debut collection eludes all sorts of categorizations. Here you will find the ghostly without the ghosts, the supernatural without that old rust, the traveller and the Exile, the deaths and the lives of foreign countries and the numinous in all its secret, hidden splendor. A bit like Herta Müller doing a Walter de la Mare impersonation, with H.G. Wells, Robert Aickman, Olivia Manning and Julien Gracq standing by, waiting silently for the inhuman - or maybe all too human - whispers of silver voices.

Artist in Residence
The Rise and Fall of the SSS
The Reluctant Visionary
In Strange Earth
The Silver Voice
To Hope for a Caesar
Inside the Stories

The Silver Voices read online

Read information about the author

Ebook The Silver Voices read Online! John Howard was born in London. His fiction has appeared in several anthologies and the collections The Silver Voices (2010), Written by Daylight (2013), and Cities and Thrones and Powers (2013). The majority of his stories have central and eastern European settings; many are set in the fictional Romanian town of Steaua de Munte. The Defeat of Grief (2010) is a novella set in Steaua de Munte and the real Black Sea resort of Balcic; Numbered as Sand or the Stars (2012) attempts a 'secret history' of Hungary between the World Wars.

Between 2003 and 2007 John Howard collaborated on eight short stories with Mark Valentine, six of which featured Valentine’s long-running series character The Connoisseur, an occult detective whose real name is never revealed. All 23 tales of The Connoisseur, including the collaborations, were reprinted in The Collected Connoisseur (2010).

Secret Europe (2012) is a collection jointly written with Mark Valentine comprising 25 short stories set in a variety of real and fictional European locations. Ten of the stories are by Howard and fifteen by Valentine.

John Howard has written articles for numerous magazines including Book and Magazine Collector, Supernatural Tales, Wormwood, Studies in Australian Weird Fiction, and All Hallows. He contributed essays to the Fritz Leiber special issue of Fantasy Commentator (No. 57/58, 2004) and to the books Black Prometheus: A Critical Study of Karl Edward Wagner (2007), Fritz Leiber: Critical Essays (2008), and The Man Who Collected Psychos: Critical Essays on Robert Bloch (2009), all edited by Benjamin Szumskyj.

John Howard also wrote the introduction to the Ash-Tree Press edition of Francis Brett Young’s classic 1924 horror novel Cold Harbour (2007).

Reviews of the The Silver Voices

The Silver Voices read online

Add a comment to The Silver Voices

Read EBOOK The Silver Voices by John Howard Online free

Download PDF: the-silver-voices.pdf The Silver Voices PDF